The year’s first major: the ANA Inspiration

Posted: April 2, 2015 2:45 pm

Women’s golf has five tournaments that are considered majors, the first of which began Thursday in Rancho Mirage, Calif.

The remaining 2015 majors: June 11-14, KPMG Women’s PGA Championship, Westchester (N.Y.) CC; July 9-12, U.S. Women’s Open, Lancaster, Pa., CC; July 30-Aug. 2, Ricoh Women’s British Open, Turnberry, Scotland; Sept. 10-13, The Evian Championship, Evian les Bains, France.

The ANA Inspiration used to be known as the Nabisco Dinah Shore. It’s still known for the winner doing a celebratory jump into a pond beside the 18th green (see Lexi Thompson above).

A preview:

Rancho Mirage, California – The LPGA Tour is set for its first of five major championships this season at the newly-named ANA Inspiration.

Lexi Thompson fired a 4-under 68 in the final round last year to collect her first career major championship at this event, which was formerly the Kraft Nabisco Championship.

Thompson, who has four victories in total on the LPGA Tour and has not won since, finished at 14-under-par 274 to win by three shots.

Runner-up Michelle Wie went on to win the second major of 2014 at the U.S. Women’s Open Championship at Pinehurst No. 2.

This week’s field will feature many of the world’s best players, including the big three atop the world rankings: Lydia Ko, Inbee Park and Stacy Lewis. Both Thompson and Wie are also playing.

Golf Channel will have coverage of all four rounds of this event.